• Teaching & Learning

    Instructional Technology


  • New technology is common, new thinking is rare.
    — Sir Peter Blake
    Comments (-1)
  • Instructional Technology Graphic


    Comments (-1)
  • The technology applications curriculum has six strands based on the National Educational Technology Standards for Students (NETS•S - 2007) and performance indicators developed by the International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE): creativity and innovation; communication and collaboration; research and information fluency; critical thinking, problem solving, and decision making; digital citizenship; and technology operations and concepts.
    Comments (-1)

Through the study of the six strands in technology applications, students use creative thinking and innovative processes to construct knowledge and develop products. Students communicate and collaborate both locally and globally to reinforce and promote learning. Research and information fluency includes the acquisition and evaluation of digital content. Students develop critical-thinking, problem-solving, and decision-making skills by collecting, analyzing, and reporting digital information. Students practice digital citizenship by behaving responsibly while using technology tools and resources. Through the study of technology operations and concepts, students learn technology related terms, concepts, and data input strategies.

Through the study of technology applications, students make informed decisions by understanding current and emerging technologies, including technology systems, appropriate digital tools, and personal learning networks. As competent researchers and responsible digital citizens, students use creative and computational thinking to solve problems while developing career and college readiness skills.

Through the study of specific technology applications courses, students gain advanced and specialized technology knowledge and skills. The knowledge and skills acquired provide students with a competitive edge in the world beyond K-12 education. Courses for which the State of Texas has developed TEKS include Computer Science (fundamentals, course I, course II, course III), Digital Forensics, Discreet Mathematics for Computer Science, Game Programming and Design, Mobile Application Development, Robotics Programming and Design, Digital Design and Media Production, Digital Art and Animation, Modeling and Animation, Digital Communications in the 21st Century, Digital Video and Audio Design, Web Communications, Web Design, Web Game Development, Independent Study in Technology Applications, and Independent Study in Evolving/Emerging Technologies.

  • Texas Education Code, Chapter 126: Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills for Technology Applications
    NOTE: The National Educational Technology Standards for Students (NETS•S) were refreshed in 2016 and now have seven strands: Empowered Learner, Digital Citizen, Knowledge Constructor, Innovative Designer, Computational Thinker, Creative Communicator, and Global Collaborator.
    Comments (-1)